Museum of Natural History, Venice

I’m sorry so many of my posts are of Venice. It’s because I took about 3928429 photos and the trip was recent so I’m still fairly excited about it. You should totally look at this one though. You won’t regret it. Unless you don’t like to see photos of dead, stuffed animals. If you don’t like that then don’t keep looking. These animals were *amazing*, though, so you totally should. Keep looking. Don’t look away. Don’t do it.

So, the Museum of Natural History in Venice is one of the most amazing places I have ever been. Seriously. It was like this incredible cabinet of curiosities set out beautifully and imaginatively. I mean, it was mainly just dead animals, but they weren’t your average natural history dusty, moth-eaten, shabby-looking stuffed things, they were set out in the most beautiful symmetry and imaginative poses and …it was just incredible. Whoever curated and set the displays up must have had a whale of a time (ha! Whale! See? Because of …animals. Yeah. Great.) We didn’t understand what anything said obviously because it was all in Italian, but you totally didn’t need to, the displays were so mind-blowing. Really. If you’re in Venice, go. GO. In fact, go to Venice just for this museum. Go now. Go on.

So all these photos were taken on my iphone, and for some reason on my phone they look amazing, but on the computer they look like a load of balls. Apologies if your eyes hurt. Also just a disclaimer, I think, I think, that some of these animals might be made up. I think. See if you can figure out which ones. OKAYGO!

Image

Image

Pretty sure that elephant was plastic.

Image

Image

Peeled zebra.

Image

If you know what’s happening here then you’re smarter than I am, because I have no idea.

Image

Image

So. Yeah.

Image

Enjoy, kids!

Image

(That’s a beaver floating in a sphere.)

Image

Yep.

 

Also, I’m just going to throw this guy in here. I know it’s a terrible photo, but I felt like everyone needs to see this. You’re welcome.

bnhm15

4 thoughts on “Museum of Natural History, Venice

  1. Do you know if these animals died of natural causes? Maybe not if the tour guide spoke just Italian..I can’t help but feel kinda bad for these fellas.. but in an artistic way, the displays are pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

